Reviews

__________________________________________

Our Experience with Thomas Jungle Tours

For a taste of adventure we signed up for a 2 day jungle trek that included camping overnight deep in the jungle. We wanted to get up close and personal with the jungle and it’s inhabitants. We wanted to see Orangutans in their natural environment. We wanted to push ourselves to the limit.

We accomplished all of this and had the time of our lives trekking with Thomas. We spent a solid 8 hours hiking through the jungle where we encountered many Orangutans, White gibbons and a Thomas Leaf Monkey. In addition we learned about all the plants and trees we came across and took some time to observe a jungle peacock.

July 2014

Read Full Review 

_____________________________________

Just returned from a two-day jungle trek out of Bukit Lawang with Thomas Jungle Tours. You will have read the other reviews about what an amazing experience is, and I can back that up 100%. The viewing of the wild orang-utans and other wildlife was something I will never forget and the tubing back to the village afterwards was great fun and hugely recommended if you do not mind getting very, very wet!

If you are planning such a trek, I strongly suggest you book direct with Thomas. If you do this, you will guarantee you get a guide who genuinely is very experienced and knowledgeable.

Alan Gates - Visited October 2011

__________________________________________

Greeting from Birmingham! Thank you for an amazing jungle trek, showing us the big bloody orangutans and feeding us up with lots of delicious food. It has been the highlight of my Indonesian adventure. Will add some pictures soon!

Sarah Sullivan - August 2011

__________________________________________

I'll keep this one brief: if you're going trekking in Lawang, go with Thomas (aka Jungle T).

He's knowledgeable, funny, and much more in touch with the environment than some guides we came across on our trek. He took us off the regular trails to avoid a throng of unsavory travelers, and he and his team deftly managed an encounter with Mina - the infamously aggressive orangutan.

Thomas shepherded us to and from the airport, making for a seamless journey through somewhat chaotic Medan.

One final note - his written english is not great, but don't be discouraged - he speaks very well in person.

Mat - Visited June 2011

__________________________________________

Hi Thomas, Am just droppin' in to say thank you for accommodating me and my family on our trip the other day. During those short 3 hours trip of jungle trekking, your well extensive knowledge of the forest has been very informative and your attentive assistance made it a fun and great experience for all of us. Especiall...y considering my family members are first timers trekkers and aged between 60 – 70 years old, I truly appreciate that you managed to get each one of them back safe and soundly in one piece. Lol.

Thanks once again and I'll be sure to spread the words to my friends. You take care in the meantime and tell Otong I said "Hi" and remind him that he still owes me a nice close-up pictures for all those bananas that we gave him. Hahaha... Cheers. ^^

Cyntha Christina, May 2011

 __________________________________________

Choose your guide carefully and if possible arrange before your arrival to avoid big headache of choosing the wrong one or so. Thomas was my guide when I was doing the trekking there. He is very informative about the flora and cool with orang utan. He is also very helpful to us.

Wombat - February 2011

 __________________________________________

Hi Everyone,
Bukit Lawang in North Sumatra is a very popular area that travellers flock to from all parts of the world to see the Orangutans.
Bukit Lawang has over 80 registered guides and choosing one can be quite difficult, especially if one arrives and is inundated with a number of guides all wanting to take one trekking.
Checking out information about a guide before hand can avoid that situation and one can have a wonderful experience trekking in the jungle and looking for orangutans.

Thomas is one guide who has been guiding for many years and knows how to look after the traveller whilst trekking the jungle and very importantly he understands how to treat the orangutan encountered on a trek - a skill many of the younger inexperienced guides in BL lack.

Pamela, September 2010

 __________________________________________

Thomas is the best guide you can get in Bukit Lawang. See the Orang Oetans in their natural habitat, explore and experience the jungle and have fun with Thomas. He is the most experienced guide in Bukit Lawang, he is very careful for the nature and he is hilarious. We did a 2 day trek and it was incredible. As a thank you to Thomas I made a short testimonial [see above].

 So, if you're visitting Bukit Lawang: GO WITH THOMAS! 

 Ircere, June 2010

 __________________________________________

We also went with Thomas and he really is the best guide you can wish. He made our trekking to a wonderful journey and he knows all kinds of awesome games!

This guy is serious about nature and preserving it, but also hilarious..

Keep up the good work Thomas!!

 cinemaasfilm, June 2010

__________________________________________

I had a great time in the tropical forest not only because of the orang utangs and the beautiful nature, but also because of my wonderful guide Thomas. He was really great, knew a lot about the forest, told us a lot about the forest (like the rubber trees, the animals and the plants), was interested in us as a person and most important he had a good sense of humor!!!

 If i would return to the tropical forest i would like to have Thomas as my guide again! And if i have to recommend any good vacation spot i would say: Go to Bukit Lawang and ask Thomas to guide you! Success, fun and a new friend guaranteed!!!

Thank you Thomas i really enjoyed my stay!
 
Kind regards 
Omaira

August 2009

_________________________________

Our group of four had an amazing two-day trek with Thomas. We saw two orang-utans, gibbons and a big snake (not as scary as it sounds!). We were really well looked after and the food was great. Thomas and his crew were informative, organised and entertaining. I would highly recommend this trek. Please feel free to email me if you want to find out more.

Catherine Such, UK

May 2008

catherinesuch@yahoo.co.uk

 ________________________________________________________________

I've recently returned from a trip to Singapore, Malaysia and Sumatra. The highlight of my trip has to be Bukit Lawang in Northern Sumatra. We embarked on a 2 day jungle trek in search of Wildlife paricularly orangutans. I was not disappointed as I had many close up experiences with them and other wildlife. I beleive what made the trek a success was Thomas the guide who was well informed, funny and spoke excellant english. The trek itself was physically demanding and as I have a knee problem and am not in the throws of youth, he kept it at a pace I could manage, helped carry my bag/ camera and literally helped me up and down some particularly tricky bits. In addition to this he and his helpers produced some of best food I had during my entire trip which was amazing as it was cooked over a camp fire in the jungle. If would strongly recommend him as a guide.

Sian William -March 2008

__________________________________________

Thomas was full of interesting knowledge about all aspects of the jungle and most importantly made the trek fun!

Sarah and Andrew, UK

February 2008

 __________________________________________

It was  truly a pleasure trekking with Thomas and I would have no hesitation in recommending him to anyone. He was friendly, helpful, respectful towards his guests and towards the jungle, entertaining and thoroughly competent.

Gisela, South Africa

November 2007